16.02.2016 Yoga

Wheels of Energy

Jen Kaz explores the fascinating world of the chakras

When I was younger I found difficulty in expressing myself.I always felt people did not validate me and that nothing I said was important. Even into my adult years I found talking with people challenging.

I also had another issue, mainly that I felt I didn’t belong to this world. I looked at others as a spectator in some alien way.

When training to become a yoga teacher I learnt what the chakras represented and how the chakras impact our lives. Realising my inability to openly communicate was a priority, I set about meditating on my throat (vishuddha) chakra. Today and I am able to speak with open and honest communication.

My affirmation: “I am able to speak my mind clearly, concisely and safely”.

Chakra is a Sanskrit word translating to mean ‘wheel of spinning energy’, named as such because of the circular shape. There are seven major chakras located along the spine extending out to the front and back of the body.

The function of the chakras affects every aspect of who we are and how we experience life.

You could think of chakras as invisible, rechargeable batteries. They are recharged, via meditation, through contact with the cosmic energy in much the same way that your home is connected to electricity within your city, except cosmic energy is free! The seven major chakras are in the centre of the body and aligned with this vertical power line. Energy is then transported through our veins in the same way as electrical wires send energy to power outlets.

Throughout life we may have experienced feelings of lack of confidence, indifference or maybe no passion or pleasure, as I did. We are taught to repress our need for pleasure and, in so doing, repress our natural bodily impulses. It leads, of course, to separation of mind and body.

These measures arise from the mind, seldom from the body. As a result, we then may experience a backlash in our emotions.

When we’re not functioning optimally, we could experience such health problems as excessive weight gain, constipation, sciatica, degenerative arthritis or knee issues. Maybe you’re finding it difficult to bring in your boundaries, or have low confidence, experience indecisiveness, speak loudly or have attachments, to name only a few issues. These are signs that the chakras are not balanced.

When balanced we experience stillness in being grounded and able to embrace change. We feel confident and empowered, have strong intuition and non-attachment.

Meditating or focusing on each of the seven major chakras will help bring balance to your life or enhance it in other ways.

The Seven Major Chakras

This image reflects main chakras and their location in the body. Here is a brief explanation for each chakra.

1. Root (Muladhara) Chakra is a grounding chakra and foundation of our entire system. It controls fight/flight response. Linked to feelings of survival.

Location: Centred between genitals and anus.

Blockage: May manifest as procrastination and defensiveness, the right to be here, or right to have.

Affirmation: I am present in the moment or I feel connected to the earth.

2. Sacral (Swadhisthana) Chakra is related to emotions, sexuality, fluidity, pleasure.

Location: Base of spine and navel.

Blockages: Emotional problems, compulsive or obsessive behaviour and sexual guilt.

Affirmation: I embrace all pleasure.

3. Solar plexus (Manipura) Chakra is the base of your emotional life.

Location: Solar plexus. Corresponds to pancreas and adrenal glands.

Blockages: Anger, frustration and lack of direction or a sense of victimisation.

Affirmation: I am loved.

4. Heart (Anahata) Chakra is related to love, compassion, harmony and peace.

Location: Heart band.

Blockages: Could present in the immune system, lung or heart problems, or manifest as inhumanity, lack of compassion or unprincipled behaviour.

Affirmation: I am who I am and I love me!

5. Throat (Vishuddha) Chakra is communication, creativity, self expression and judgment.

Location: Throat.

Blockages: May show up as creative blocks, dishonesty or difficulty communicating one’s needs to others.

Affirmation: I can speak my mind clearly and safely

6. Third Eye (Ajna) Chakra is linked to the pineal gland.This chakra questions the spiritual nature of our life, questions perception and knowing. Previous lifetimes are held here.

Location: Forehead centre.

Blockages: Could manifest problems such as lack of foresight, mental rigidity, selective memory and depression.

Affirmation: I can see or I manifest what’s perfect for me.

7. Crown (sahasrara) chakra is ssociated with the cerebral cortex, central nervous system and pituitary gland and concerned with information, understanding, acceptance and bliss.

Blockages: Not connected to higher guidance from ancestors or high self.

Affirmation: I am open-minded.

I overcame my feelings of ‘not belonging’ through meditation and affirming that “I belong, I am of this world”. I hope this article facilitates any change you may be seeking in further personal growth.

Jen Kaz is a fertility yoga teacher and QiYoga teacher based in Perth. www.qiyog.org

Jen Kaz

Jen Kaz trained and taught yoga in London in 2008. In early 2010 she returned to Perth and began teaching QiYoga. www.qiyoga.org